VCU Leadership Development Program Mentors

Participants in the VCU Leadership Development Program receive a mentor from senior level administration. The program pairs current and emerging leaders among the faculty, staff, and administrators with a senior level university leader to: enhance his/her leadership development experience, foster University connections across professional levels, disciplines, and campuses, support the growth and development of program participants by sharing of experiences and strategies for success in academia, and provide practical guidance for dealing with professional dilemmas and career progression.

VCU Leadership Development Program Mentors are key decision makers within the university with social and political capital of benefit to the development of the protégés. Mentors who participate in the program are selected based on: their senior experience in a variety of university settings, diversity, professional background, their recognition as successful leaders, and their personal commitment to sharing their professional experiences in the development of others. If you would like to be considered for service as a mentor, please email our office at

Mentor of the Year

Annually, a "Mentor of the Year" award is given at the conclusion of the program. The awardee is selected by the program's participants and honors the mentor who has made the biggest impact on his/her protégé.


2018 - Meredith Weiss, Vice President for Administration, Office of the President

2017- Jihad Aziz, Director, University Counseling
           Aashir Nasim, Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs, Office of the Provost

2016 - Mark Rubin, Executive director of the Virginia Center for Consensus Building

2015 - Quincy Byrdsong, Vice President for Clinical Research Administration and Compliance

2014 - Michael D. Davis, Interim Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Affairs

2013 Catherine Howard, Vice Provost, Division of Community Engagement

2012 Martha Lou Green, Special Assistant to the Provost for Student Veteran Support